Faculty Directory



Distinguished Emeritus Professor


Bruno Solnik is Distinguished Emeritus Professor of Finance at HEC-School of Management in France and Visiting Professor of Finance at HKUST in Hong Kong. He holds an Engineer degree from Polytechnique in Paris and a PhD from MIT. He was on the faculty of the Stanford Business School before joining HEC. He has been a visiting professor at the University of California at Berkeley, UCLA , Université de Genève, University of New South Wales and University of Tokyo (todai).

He is a former President of the European Finance Association and Director of the American Finance Association. He has written seven books, five in France and two in the USA, including Global Investments (formerly titled International Investments, the leading textbook in the field, translated into Spanish, Japanese and Chinese). The sixth edition of Global Investment, coauthored by Dennis McLeavey of the CFA Institute, is used for all three levels of the CFA examination. He has published some fifty articles in leading finance and economics journals such as the Journal of Finance, the Financial Analysts Journal, Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, Journal of Economic Theory, Journal of International Money and Finance, etc.. He also serves on the board of editors of several major Finance journals in America, Europe and Asia.

Professor Solnik has served on the Council for Education and Research of the AIMR (now CFA Institute) and on its Research Foundation. He has received many prizes, including two Graham & Dodd Awards for Excellence by the Financial Analysts Journal, The "Finance Award of the Year" at the 1998 Interlaken Finance Symposium, and the Nicholas Molodovsky Award, presented by the AIMR Board of Governors on May 22, 1999. "This award is given periodically only to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions of such significance as to change the direction of the profession and to raise it to higher standards of accomplishment". He was the first non-American to receive the award.

Back to faculty directory