Masters' programs - tomorrow is our business

Victory for the HEC tennis team in Monte Carlo

12 Oct 2017

The HEC Tennis Club has won the inter-school tennis tournament organized on the prestigious courts of Monte Carlo.


It was on the legendary courts of the Monte Carlo Country Club, host of the World Tour Masters 1000 that students from 6 international Grandes Écoles and Universities, met over the weekend of the 6th, 7th and 8th October.

Organized for 14 years by the HEC Tennis Club (TCH), this tournament is one of the most valued student tennis competitions in Europe. The 2017 edition brought together 6 teams from the universities of St. Gallen (Switzerland), Oxford and Cambridge (United Kingdom), Bocconi (Italy), Trinity College (Ireland) and HEC Paris.

This year, HEC Paris had the honor of winning the competition. For the vice-president and player in TCH, Antoine de Valence, “the organization of this tournament has been of immense pride and this victory is a great satisfaction”. Antoine, who is currently an M1 student in the Grande École program, expressed his satisfaction with the quality of the game and the intensity of the tournament: “we had mainly very high-ranking players who were competing on the courts who provided us with a great show of tight encounters and hard-won victories.”

The HEC players also won the final against St. Gallen, a very strong team, who initially defeated HEC in one of the preliminary matches of the tournament

The players of the school had the honor of being awarded the trophy by Guillermo Vilas, former winner of the Roland-Garros, the US Open and the Australian Open. The French ambassador to Monaco, Marine de Carne-Trécesson, Željko Franulović Director of the Monte-Carlo Masters, Jean Luc Allavena (H.86) and Francis Truchi, Monte Carlo Country Club, also attended the ceremony.

Another standout moment of the tournament was that of the signing session and handshakes with the 6th player in the ATP rankings, Novak Djokovic.


The 6 students who made up the winning team are: Alica Repcikova, Alexia Bernard, Adrien Puget, Alban Rochard, Antoine de Valence and Antoine Leharle.