Gonçalo Pacheco de Almeida and Pascal Quiry named best HEC Professors 2013

10 July 2013

The Pierre Vernimmen – BNP Paribas Teaching Awards took place on 17 June 2013 at BNP Paribas headquarters in Paris. HEC students and the grand jury awarded two professors for their teaching proficiencies. Both have achieved international recognition in their respective fields, one in business strategy and the other in corporate finance.

Prix Vernimmen Teaching Awards 2013: Gonçalo Pacheco de Almeida et Pascal Quiry désignés meilleurs professeurs HEC de l'année 2013

The prize winners of the 16th edition of the Pierre Vernimmen – BNP Paribas Teaching Awards are Gonçalo Pacheco de Almeida, Professor of Corporate Strategy and Policy, and Pascal Quiry, Affiliate Professor of Finance. The ceremony took place on 17 June 2013 at the BNP Paribas Orangerie, in presence of Michel Pébereau, Honorary Chairman of the Board of Directors at BNP Paribas, and Bernard Ramanantsoa, Dean of HEC Paris.

Gonçalo Pacheco’s teachings cover Advanced Strategy Analysis, Strategy in Dynamic Environments, Business Strategy and Negotiation. He teaches in the MBA program where he is the Academic Director of the Strategy Specialization, and also in the Master in Management Grande Ecole, Executive Education and PhD programs. He received the HEC MBA Class of 2012 Best Professor Award for the elective phase in 2012. Before joining HEC Paris en 2010 he was an Assistant Professor at  New York University Stern Business School.

HEC graduate Pascal Quiry is an Affiliate Professor of Finance at HEC where he has been teaching corporate finance, advanced financial policy and financial dimension of strategic decisions within Executive Education, MBA and Master in Management Grande Ecole programs for 25 years. Alongside his teachings, he is the Administrator of several unlisted companies. Pascal Quiry is co-author of the “Vernimmen- Corporate Finance” (Dalloz, 2013) reference textbook in the area of corporate finance and runs the website He is also co-author of Corporate Finance: Theory and Practice (Wiley).

Each year the Teaching Awards reward the excellence of HEC Professors' teachings and the quality of their educational relationship with students within different programs: Master in Management Grande Ecole, Specialized Masters, MSc, MBA, EMBA, TRIUM Global Executive MBA and PhD.

The prize is homage to Pierre Vernimmen (1946-1996) HEC Professor of Finance and Director at BNP Paribas. It is awarded on the basis of evaluations / appraisals written by the students themselves. After this first step selection, representatives from BNP Paribas and HEC Paris meet to elect the award winner for each category (one from the Full-time Faculty and the other from the Affiliate Faculty). This year, the jury was chaired by François Debiesse, BNP Paribas.

Previous Prize Winners:


Full Time Faculty

Affiliate Faculty and adjunct faculty



Jacques Olivier

Michel Ferrary



Christian Cauvin

Antoine Bello



Christian Cauvin

Bruno Husson



Hervé Crès

Valérie Gauthier



Pierre Dussauge

Michael Brookes



Hervé Stolowy

Christine Guerlain



Bernard Garrette

Alfredo Noriega



Patrick Lemattre

Vincenzo Esposito Vinzi



Frédéric Dalsace

Moncef Cheikh-Rouhou



Alessandro Citanna

Alexandre Lamy



Jean-Noël Kapferer

Yann Lefur



Wolfgang Ulaga

Xavier Boute



Oliver Gottschalg

Christine Guerlain



Philippe Corruble

Frédéric Leroy



Corey Phelps

Pascal Chaigneau

Back to News list