International Teachers Programme ©

The International Teachers Programme © is a faculty-development program organized by the International Schools of Business Management (ISBM), a group of twelve leading business schools located in Asia, Europe, and North-America: HEC Paris, IAE Aix en Provence, IMD Lausanne, INSEAD Fontainebleau, Indian School of Business Hyderabad, Kellogg School of Managment - Northwestern University, London Business School, Manchester Business School, SDA Bocconi Milan, Stern School of Business - New York University, Stockholm School of Economics, as well as the European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD).

  • China Europe International Business School – George S. Yip
  • EFMD Brussels - Eric Cornuel
  • HEC Paris - Pierre Dussauge
  • IAE d'Aix en Provence - Pierre Batteau
  • IMD Lausanne - Michael Yaziji 
  • INSEAD Fontainbleau - Gareth Dyas
  • Indian School of Business - Arun Pereira
  • Kellogg School of Managment, Northwestern University - Lakshman Krishnamurthi
  • London Business School - John Mullins
  • Manchester Business School - Heather Spiro 
  • SDA Bocconi Milan - Ferdinando Pennarola, Chairmann
  • Stern School of Business, New York University - Rohit Deo
  • Stockholm School of Economics - Claes-Robert Julander

ISBM network

ITP has served over 1,500 high-caliber faculty and educators from many countries since it started more than 50 years ago. During this period, the Program has rotated between ISBM Schools.
ITP 2005/06 and 2006/07 hosted by IMD Lausanne
ITP 2007/08 and 2008/09 hosted by SDA Bocconi, Milan
ITP 2009/10 and 2010/11 hosted by Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

2012 and 2013 ITP will be hosted by HEC Paris

A snapshot on the ITP history

Ferdinando Pennarolaby Ferdinando Pennarola, Chairman of the Board of Directors of ISBM (International Schools of Business Management)

Perhaps, no greater testament to the power of ideas in management education exists than the Harvard Business School, the organization that accounted for the “case method”.  It was in 1958 when HBS, with the financial aids of the Ford Foundation, decided to launch the International Teachers Programme © to help train foreign faculty on effective learning / teaching processes. The first class was formed by 18 participants coming from 12 countries. HBS promoted a global view of extending international management education, and it was responsible for the founding and nurturing of business schools in India, Pakistan, Turkey, the Philippines, and Central America.

In 1969, HBS moved the program to Europe, in Leysin, Switzerland, where it was part of an internationalization strategy project of its faculty. A decisive step was taken in 1972 by inviting seven European management schools to join with them in the further development and management of the ITP.

This group of “consortium schools” gave birth to ISBM – International Schools of Business Management – a non-profit organization headquartered at London Business School since 1977. The consortium has been welcoming new member schools regularly; most recently, the Indian School of Business, Hyderabad.
Today the ITP is the only flagship initiative, sustained by more than 50 years of history, with the unchanged aspiration of developing faculty in a globalized economic system. Thanks to a long established rotation principle, the ITP is managed every two years by one of the ISBM schools, thus ensuring a continuous update of its content.