HEC Alumni network

The HEC Paris Alumni network is among the largest in Europe with more than 52,000 Alumni based in 132 countries. It was founded in 1883 to develop a powerful and dynamic lifelong connection to the HEC Paris community and is now presided over by Frédéric Jousset (H.92). 

The alumni network promotes global awareness of the HEC Paris brand and supports HEC Paris' future development. Its first mission is to facilitate exchange and experience-sharing among its members within a dynamic and fraternal network which counts over 450 entities (48 professional groups, 78 overseas groups and 25 clubs). HEC Alumni also organizes over 1,000 events each year across the globe, and provides one-on-one career coaching with a thousand experimented mentors.

Revue Hommes et Commerce #348 HEC © Nicolas Reitzaum


More than 52,000 alumni are in all sorts of sectors and lines of work around the world. Such diversity is precious. The following list is, of course, non exhaustive…


Jean-Paul Agon, CEO, L’Oréal
Nasser Al Ansari, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Qatari Diar, and Undersecretary of Qatar’s Office of the Prime Minister and Foreign Affairs
Jason Araghi, President, Green Beans Coffee Company
Francis Bouygues, Founder, Groupe Bouygues
Isabelle Guichot, CEO, Balenciaga
Bruno Lafont, CEO, Lafarge
Guy Morgan, Former Chairman and CEO, BlueStar Energy Solutions
Didier Pineau-Valencienne, Honorary President, Schneider, Chairman of the Investment Committee, Sagard
François-Henri Pinault, CEO, Kering
Guillaume Poitrinal, CEO, Woodeum, President of the HEC Foundation
Henri Proglio, CEO, EDF
Jean-Dominique Sénard, CEO, Michelin
Song Dong Sheng, President, Sinohydro Corporation Limited
Wang Zhentao, Chairman, Aokang Group

Finance / Insurance

Jean-Luc Allavena, Partner, Apollo Management International
Jean d’Arthuys, Director, Fonds Stratégique d’Investissement
Joseph Audi, Chairman and CEO, Interaudi Bank
Carl Braun, Chairman of the Board, Unibank SA and Groupe Financier National (GFN), Haiti
Henri de Castries, CEO, AXA
René Proglio, Chairman, Morgan Stanley France
Baudouin Prot, Chairman, BNP Paribas
Jacques Richier, CEO, Allianz France


Pierre Bellon, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Sodexo
Daniel Bernard, Chairman of Kingfisher and MAF Retail Group, President of Provestis, President of the HEC Foundation
Mercedes Erra, Founder of BETC and the Executive President of Havas Worldwide
Philippe Foriel-Destezet, Honorary President, Adecco
Pierre-Antoine Gailly, President, Paris Chamber of commerce and industry
Stéphane Richard, CEO, France-Télécom
Pierre-Frédéric Roulot, President & CEO of Louvre Hotels Group

Digital Business

Pascal Cagni, Former General Manager and VP for Europe, Middle-East, India and Africa, Apple
Hubert Joly, CEO of BestBuy
Pierre Kosciusko-Morizet, Founder and CEO, PriceMinister
Dan Serfaty, CEO of Viadeo
Rick Thompson, former Corporate Vice-President of Microsoft
Stéphane Treppoz, CEO, Sarenza.com


Emmanuel Chain, Journalist, Producer and Managing Director of Elephant & Co
Claire Chazal, Anchorwoman on French TV channel TF1
Louis Dreyfus, Chairman of newspaper Le Monde
Rémy Pflimlin, CEO, France Télévisions
Alain Weill, CEO, NextRadio


François Hollande, Former President of the French Republic
Pascal Lamy, former Director-General, World Trade Organization

The « one and only »

Jean-Pierre Dick, Skipper
Maurice Herzog, Mountaineer and Explorer
Pierre Rosanvallon, Historian, Director of studies at EHESS, Professor at Collège de France
Kalpana Sankar, nuclear physicist and CEO of Indian NGO Hand in Hand


The following personalities received the HEC Honorary Degree:

  • José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission
  • Jacques Delors, former Minister, former President of the European Commission
  • Bill Gates, co-founder and Chairman of Microsoft
  • Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, former President of the French Republic
  • Mikhail Gorbachev, former President of the USSR
  • Jeffrey Immelt, CEO of General Electric
  • Helmut Kohl, former Chancellor of Germany
  • Aleksander Kwasniewski, former President of the Republic of Poland
  • Samuel J. Palmisano, CEO of IBM
  • Romano Prodi, former Prime Minister of Italy, former President of the European Commission
  • Helmut Schmidt, former Chancellor of Germany
  • Abdoulaye Wade, former President of the Republic of Sénégal
  • Jens Weidmann, Président de la Deutsche Bundesbank